Carpinteria Birdwatching Classes

Classes and outings are free of charge. Classes are held on the third Wednesday of each month (usually) at 6:30 p.m.

We also do a low-key birdwatching outing somewhere around Carpinteria on the Saturday after each class.

June Class Details:

  • When: Wednesday, June 20, 2018, 6:30 pm
  • Where: Silver Sands Mobile Home Park, 349 Ash Ave, Carpinteria (see directions below)
  • Subject: Sparrows; Big Pine Mountain survey trip

Future Class Schedule:

  • Wednesday, June 20, 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 18, 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 15, 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 19, 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 17, 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, November 14, 6:30 p.m. <– Note: earlier date (2nd Wed.) to avoid Thanksgiving

 June Outing Details:

For the June outing we’ll be heading back to the site of our first outing last fall: The Carpinteria Salt Marsh Nature Park.

  • When: Saturday, June 23, 2018, 8 a.m.
  • Where: Carpinteria Salt Marsh Nature Park
  • Directions: Park along Ash Avenue, then meet near the south entrance to the marsh (near the bathrooms by the beach).

Things to bring:

  • Binoculars (if you have them)
  • Clothing and footwear suitable for walking
  • Sun protection
  • Water

Future Outing Schedule:

  • Saturday, June 23, 8 a.m., Carpinteria Salt Marsh Nature Park
  • Saturday, July 21, 8 a.m., location TBA
  • Saturday, August 18, 8 a.m., location TBA
  • Saturday, September 22, 8 a.m., location TBA
  • Saturday, October 20, 8 a.m., location TBA
  • Saturday, November 17, 8 a.m., location TBA <- Note: earlier date to avoid conflicting with Thanksgiving

Directions for all Wednesday evening classes:

Classes are held at:

Silver Sands Mobile Home Park Clubhouse
349 Ash Ave.
Carpinteria, CA 93013

Take Linden Avenue south toward the beach. After you cross the railroad tracks, turn right on Dorrance Way. At the end of the street, where it meets Ash Avenue, park along Ash Avenue in front of the Silver Sands Mobile Home Park. Overflow parking is also available to the south (left) along Ash Avenue.

Walk into the mobile home park by the south (left) driveway. The clubhouse is the first building on your left. (See below; click for larger map.)

Questions? Contact John Callender, jbc@jbcsystems.com, or call 805-455-0053.